CONCEPT

You’ve always wanted a cabin in the country, a little retreat surrounded by nature… but it’s a step that invariably seems too big to take. So maybe your thoughts turn to buying a small shack you can renovate. It seems like the perfect way to reach your goal right away… but do you really think you’re going to feel like working on your “project” every weekend?

 

On the other hand, if you want to build from scratch, you need to find the land… and even if you’ve already got a spot, there are several steps to go through before you get to fully enjoy a relaxing weekend at the cabin:

Architectural and structural designs.
A topographical survey.
A percolation test.
The site plan.
Municipal approval of the plans.
An erosion control plan.

 

At Mille Pieds Carrés, we are well acquainted with each of these steps, and we can steer and guide your project to completion:

We have the contacts, resources, and experience to help you avoid any missteps.
We can support you at every stage of the project.
We supervise the work as though we are to be the future homeowners ourselves.
And above all, we’ve already got plans on hand to submit to the municipality of your choice and to begin building as quickly as possible.

salon chalet 888 1000p2

THE 888 IS FOR YOU!

We have applied all of our vast knowledge, working with the architects at _naturehumaine, to bring you a compact, 888 square-foot cabin, nestled in the countryside, to meet your needs—your real needs: to be surrounded by nature… and to just settle in. A latte in the city on Thursday. A glass of wine at the cabin on Friday!

 

We’ve built our first model in West Bolton, in the Eastern Townships, to better assess the costs… both ours and yours. Each square foot has been well thought out. We’ve done away with all of the costly aspects of a traditional house, while maximizing our efforts to bring you added comfort.

 

The main idea behind this cabin concept was to design modules that are independent from one another, each of which has a different function. We therefore created two modules—the living quarters and the bedroom quarters—linked by a platform that serves as an entryway and vestibule.

 

On the energy efficiency front, the model meets the most up-to-date requirements of the National Building Code (NBC 2010). In addition, every effort was made to use local suppliers.

 

The large Alumilex windows were positioned on the same side, arranged to get the most exposure, taking advantage of natural light and warmth.

cuisine salon chalet 888 1000p2

WHY 888 SQUARE FEET?

We believe that being environmentally-friendly doesn’t just boil down to buzzwords and a LEED certification, but rather that the bottom line involves reducing our energy footprint: the number of square feet we use. This explains our interest in small-sized modern cabins.

 

We could have specialized in building even smaller dwellings, but most municipalities in Quebec require these types of buildings to be at least 753 ft2 (70 m2) in size. And often, the fixed costs associated with the construction of a new home (artesian well, septic tank, leach field, and other infrastructures) considerably increase the cost per square foot for micro-homes.

 

An 888 ft2 size seemed just about right… and it’s a good-looking number too!

chambre chalet 888 1000p2

CHOOSING US

Building a cabin comes with several challenges that many people might underestimate.

 

Do you plan on getting up at 5:30 am to get to the work site, making important decisions that can’t be made off-site, being around to receive an order of supplies, or meeting with sub-contractors for an estimate? Do you know how much things cost? Have you thought of everything that must be included in an estimate, so as to limit any extra charges? Can you coordinate various tradespeople and set up the various steps—not according to your schedule but rather based on the logical progression of the work?

 

Choosing us means minimizing the impact of all of these aspects on your daily life.

 

It also means skipping the design stage—which can often be long and costly—and having plans ready to be submitted to the municipality of your choice in record time!

 

Also…

Our dwellings are built with the strictest respect for the building code and for workers.
We are duly registered with the Régie du Bâtiment (5729-5552-01).
We have all appropriate licences (including licences 1.1.1 / 1.1.2).
Our buildings come with GCR’s new home warranty plan (accreditation #15780).

CONCEPT

Vous avez toujours voulu un chalet, un lieu de retraite dans la nature, mais le pas est trop grand pour y arriver? Vous vous rabattez donc sur l’idée d’un shack à rénover. C’est en effet une façon d’en profiter rapidement, mais l’envie vous dit-il de devoir rénover à chaque fin de semaine?

 

D’un autre côté, si vous voulez vous construire, il vous faudra trouver un terrain, et même si vous l’avez déjà, plusieurs étapes devront être franchies avant de pouvoir savourer pleinement le plaisir d’être au chalet :

La conception des plans d’architectes et de structure.
Le relevé topographique.
Le test de percolation.
Le plan d’implantation.
L’approbation des plans par la ville.
Le plan de contrôle de l’érosion.

 

Chez Mille Pieds Carrés, nous connaissons bien ces étapes, et nous nous efforcerons d’encadrer votre projet :
Nous avons les contacts, les ressources et l’expérience pour vous éviter les faux pas.
Nous sommes en mesure de vous épauler à travers toutes les étapes du projet.
Nous supervisons les travaux comme si nous étions nous-mêmes les futurs propriétaires.
Et surtout, nous avons déjà en main des plans prêts à être soumis à la municipalité de votre choix, et d’entamer la construction le plus rapidement possible.

LE CHALET 888, C'EST POUR VOUS!

Nous avons mis en œuvre toute notre expertise avec les architectes _naturehumaine pour vous offrir un chalet compact de 888 pieds carrés niché en pleine nature, qui répondra à vos besoins, vos vrais besoins, celui de vous retrouver en pleine nature… et de décanter. Un latté en ville le jeudi. Un verre de vin au chalet le vendredi!

 

Nous avons construit un premier exemplaire à Bolton-Ouest dans les Cantons de l’Est pour mieux évaluer les coûts… et mieux évaluer les vôtres. Chaque pied carré a été pensé. Nous avons mis au rancart tous les aspects d’une maison traditionnelle qui coûtent cher, et nous avons maximisé nos efforts dans ce qui vous apporte le plus de confort.

 

L’idée première derrière ce concept de chalet est de créer des modules indépendants les uns des autres, qui occupent chacun une fonction différente. Nous avons donc créé deux modules, l’aire de vie et l’aire des chambres, liés par une plateforme qui fait office d’entrée et de vestibule.

 

Côté énergétique, le modèle respecte les exigences du Code National du Bâtiment (CNB 2010) le plus à jour. Nous nous sommes aussi efforcés de nous approvisionner le plus possible de fournisseurs locaux.

 

La grande fenestration Alumilex a été disposée du même côté de manière à orienter ces fenêtres du côté le plus exposé, profitant ainsi de l’éclairage et de la chaleur naturelle.

NOUS CHOISIR

Construire un chalet comporte des défis que plusieurs sous-estiment.

 

Avez-vous l’intention de vous lever à 5h30 du matin pour vous rendre au chantier, prendre des décisions importantes que vous ne pouvez prendre à distance, recevoir une commande ou rencontrer des sous-traitants pour une soumission? Connaissez-vous les prix? Avez-vous pensé à tout ce qui doit être inclus dans une soumission, de manière à limiter les extras? Êtes-vous en mesure de bien coordonner les différents corps de métier, et de bien aligner les différentes étapes, non pas en fonction des contraintes qu’impose votre horaire, mais en fonction de la progression logique du chantier?

 

Nous choisir, c’est minimiser l’impact de tous ces aspects sur votre vie quotidienne.

 

C’est aussi sauter l’étape de la conception, parfois longue et coûteuse, et vous retrouver avec des plans prêts à être soumis à la municipalité de votre choix en un temps record!

 

En plus…
Nos habitations sont bâties dans le respect le plus stricte du Code du Bâtiment et des travailleurs.
Nous sommes dûment enregistrés auprès de la Régie du Bâtiment (5729-5552-01).
Nous avons toutes les licences appropriées (dont les licences 1.1.1. / 1.1.2).
Nos constructions sont assorties du nouveau plan de garantie de maisons neuves GCR (accréditation #15780).